Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam lead Pakistan to historic ODI series win in South Africa

PAK beat SA: Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Imam ul-Haq led Pakistan to a 28-run victory over South Africa in decider and win the series 2-1

PAK beat SA: Fakhar Zaman’s century and Babar Azam’s 93 helped Pakistan beat South Africa by 28 runs in the 3rd ODI at the SuperSport Park in Centurion and clinch the ODI series 3-1. Sent to bat, Pakistan set a 321-run target but a depleted South African side failed to chase the target after they were bowled out for 292 runs in 49.1 overs.

South Africa skipper Temba Bavuma won the toss and sent Pakistan to bat first. Imam Ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman gave Pakistan a solid start, bringing up their 100-run partnership. Imam, after a half-century in the 1st match, followed it up with another while Zaman played yet another century after a wonderful 193-run knock in the last match. Apart from them, captain Babar Azam played an important innings of 94 besides a late surge from Hassan Ali as Pakistan set a 321-run target for South Africa in the 3rd ODI at the SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday.

Also Read: ICC ODI Rankings: Pakistan’s Babar Azam now just 5 points behind Virat Kohli to become World No 1 ODI batsman

Fakhar Zaman carried on and brought up his sixth ODI century and second of the series with a wonderful 101-run knock of 104 balls, providing Pakistan with the platform to post a huge score. Before he was dismissed by Maharaj, he put up a 94-run stand with Babar Azam.

PAK beat SA: However, after Zaman’s dismissal, Pakistan lost wickets in regular intervals as South African spinners struck back after being dominated by the visitors the entire morning. In the end, some fine shots from Hasan Ali helped Pakistan post 320/7 total in the decider.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Great news for IPL, Bad news for South Africa team, Rabada, De Kock, Ngidi leaves team in lurch to play IPL 2021

South Africa began well in the chase with openers Janneman Malan and Aiden Markram putting up a 54-run stand for the opening wicket. But after Markram was dismissed, it triggered a collapse. From 54/1 in 8.4 overs, Proteas were reduced to 140/5 in 27.3 overs. While Kyle Verreynne and Andile Phehlukwayo ceased the slide with a 108-run sixth-wicket stand. Their partnership raised hopes and kept South Africa in the game.

However, as Verreynne was dismissed by Haris Rauf in the 44th over, Phehlukwayo too departed soon, South Africa’s hopes of winning the match kept going narrower. In the end, Pakistan won the match by 28 runs to clinch the series 2-1. Pakistan are the only side to beat South Africa at their home twice in the last 10 years. The only other team that has beaten Proteas at home is Virat Kohli’s India.

PAK beat SA: South Africa Innings 282/9 (48 ovs); Need 321 in 50 ovs

South Africa vs Pakistan Innings 320/7 (50 ovs)

PAK beat SA: South Africa vs Pakistan Series Decider – Playing XI:

Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf

South Africa: Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Jon-Jon Smuts, Temba Bavuma (capt), Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Beuran Hendricks, Daryn Dupavillon, Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Comment